Nowadays, people throw away old things and adopt new things. Does the disadvantage of throwaway society outweigh any possible economic advantages?

Presently, in the modern world, novelty is in human nature. Sometimes it is genuine, however many times it is a temptation only. Those who adopt new things come under rapidly growing category, called throwaway society. It is very clear that disadvantages certainly outweigh its perceived and hypothetical advantages. This essay provides the empirical evidences to support the above notion.

To begin with, today’s throwaway society has generated many problems. To enumerate, to satisfy never ending craze of being better and different, people buy new things, this leads to loss of money. So they work hard to earn more money, eventually victims of this trend becomes materialistic. People in race to earn more tend to move away from ethics and moral values which is big loss to society and today’s world. Moreover, throwaway society is responsible for collection of waste and to manage this dump becomes headache for government. These thrown away items contribute to pollution, most of such items are non biodegradable and hazardous for ecosystem. For example, many countries dump tonnage of waste in sea killing marine life.

On the other hand, some economists support perceived advantages. Firstly, throwaway society encourages growth of manufacturing, technology and research related industries. Secondly, as it provides employment opportunities in various sectors hence growth curve is seen in global economy. Thirdly, adoption of the new things helps in improving standard of life by facilitating more products of comfort. To illustrate, many new advanced automatic gadgets are introduced in market every day which makes life more convenient.

To recapitulate, it is evident that the concept of throwaway society is harmful to the world in so many ways. It has adverse effects on the social setup, ecosystem and environment. Thus, disadvantages of throwaway society outscore its perceived economic advantages.