Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on whether homework should be given to children. While some people claim that it is not a good idea to assign children after-school tasks, others insist homework should be indispensable to children’s education. In my opinion, it is reasonable to have children do take-home assignments despite some potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, assigning children take-home tasks might cause them considerable stress, fatigue and anxiety. In South Korea, for example, the majority of 13 to 18-year-old students are under tremendous pressure to complete copious amount of homework every night, despite having spent their whole day studying at school and feeling exhausted after returning home. If they fail to meet the deadline of their assignments), they will be reprimanded for their negligence or put in hours of detention. Given the above drawbacks, some people consider it inappropriate to put children under this torture.

On the other hand, take-home assignments are thought of as an effective way to broaden children’s school knowledge and improve/enhance their academic performance. There has been some evidence that take-home assignments are credited with facilitating children’s learning. If students do homework regularly and diligently, they can not only get a stronger grip on what they have acquired but also identify their own gaps in knowledge. The more they are devoted to the assignments, the more likely they are to familiarized themselves with the possible questions they might come across in school or high-stakes examinations. More important, homework offers students an opportunity to reflect on how much they have made progress, thereby helping them revise their learning styles. Considering the aforementioned benefits, some people think it necessary to give children homework.

In conclusion, people hold different perspectives on how much homework should be given to young children. Some fear that it imposes unnecessary burden on pupils, depriving them of their leisure time and putting them under pressure. However, I think it mandatory to continue this long-held practice that can effectively maximize students’ learning. As long as children learn how to schedule their after-school time properly, they will find homework is not so much a nightmare as a useful learning tool.