Nowadays scientists and tourists can travel to remote natural environments such as the South Pole.

What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this development?

In today’s society, technology has allowed individuals to travel around the world, even to some of the most challenging places on earth. Although this phenomenon might damage the environment ,it will contribute significantly to the expansion of human knowledge in the long run. This essay will discuss the positive and negative impact of this development.

On the one hand, visiting these seemingly far away places will damage the environment tremendously, which then affect the people around the world. The earth’s temperature is already sky- high, and natural environments such as the South Pole, or the Amazon rainforest are the reasons keeping Earth a habitable place. Various trips a year going to these places will produce a significant amount of greenhouse gases and waste, which will have a direct negative impact to these destinations since they are sources of air and water pollution. Furthermore, in order to attract more visitors coming to these places, companies will have to alter the place, removing animals from their natural habitats in the process. As a result, these actions might affect every human-beings, even those living in cities, which are often far away from remote natural environments.

On the other hand, ecologists have come up with almost all possible theories about the Earth, and only by going to extreme corners of the globe, they might have a chance of discovering some more mysteries. New explorations and studies in ecology will given us better understanding of mother nature, which will in turn help scientists come up with more ideas, even opportunities to study new fields. For example, more than 80% of the ocean remains unexplored, by going to these regions, scientists might have chances of finding and doing researchs on rare sea creatures, and unique species. These studies will contribute significantly to the development of human since it provide us with knowledge and valuable experiences gained through these journeys.

In conclusion, there are justifications to upheld and disapprove of both arguments to this phenomenon. However, expeditions to distant isolated destinations is more beneficial to society and individuals because of the positive impacts in scientific field.