Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

We are living in a knowledge-based society so a degree from a university is valuable to find work. Nonetheless, in some organizations, they usually choose the people who graduate from higher education than having a lot of practical skills in life. From my point of view, this method is suitable at the present and I give two reasons as follows.

First of all, formal academic qualifications included the necessary knowledge and specific skill, which the company required. Therefore, employees are likely to have better promotion prospects. The following reason is that most workers who have only life experience and characters without theoretical knowledge and skill need a long period to become familiar with work.

However, I think that this is a negative development, and both academic and non-academic job hunters should receive an equal chance in the recruitment process. This is because many people decide to work right after school instead of starting tertiary education to gain life skills and practical experience. On top of that, after a long time of working in a real work environment, people are also capable of doing most assigned tasks without a formal academic education. The typical example can be seen in the case of Steve Jobs, a founder of Apple, who was the most successful person in the technology industry without holding any formal education in this field.

In conclusion, this trend is attributable to two main reasons, and I believe that this is negative progress for the above-mentioned arguments.