Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other older people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, the way people live has undergone a noticeable and far-reaching transformation. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached as to whether the older generation should live in retirement homes instead of living with their own children. For my part, I aside with the advocates to a large extent based on following sound reasons.

Firstly, it is vital to recognize that the older people get, the more likely they are to develop a slew of medical issues such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, brain dysfunction, or cancer, among others. Many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, being afflicted with a chronic disease necessitates the use of medications as well as frequent medical check-ups and, on occasion, specific treatments. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that taking care of the senior's health requires a significant amount of time and effort. For example, according to statistics, in numerous developed countries, the authorities place a high value on providing the infrastructure of nursing homes or aged care centers with qualified health professionals and cutting-edge technology. This example is the illustration of the fact that the physical condition of retirees will be improved.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by opponents to this is that when the elderly are separated from their families and do not have children, it is easy for them to feel lonely and depressed. This argument is true to some extent; however, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is the fact that they are desperate for social connections, as their children must work all day and have no free time for them. In this case, telling examples include exercise classes, musical events, and featured programs celebrated so that citizens can find empathy and make friends with those whom they share an interest. From this example, one can observe that the level of social activity will be increased, and entertaining ways for seniors to socialize will be provided.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that people in nursing homes who are retired and do not live with adult children have brought more benefits than drawbacks.