Nowadays, traffic jam is becoming more and more serious. Some people think that imposing high taxes on cars is an effective solution to solve this problem. Can the advantages of this solution outweigh its disadvantages?

In this modern era, imposing high taxes on cars to reduce traffic congestion is a topic of public interest and concern. Although there are positive effects, drawbacks of striking high taxes on cars are obvious. However, in my opinion, the former definitely carry more weight than the latter.

On the one hand, when the government imposes a high tax on cars, some limitations can be foreseen. This action of the government will make people travel by public transport more than before. It will have a significant impact on the auto manufacturing industry. The car companies will have to reduce in scale and the price of cars because there are few people to buy and causing companies to lay off employees, leaving many people unemployed. Secondly, travelling by public transport will be inconvenient for many people. In big cities, they will have to wait in line for a long time to get on the bus, making it very difficult for them to get to the company.

However, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. This tax will encourage more people to travel by public transport. This will reduce the number of private cars, help protect the environment, reduce dust, improve air quality, and improve people's health without lung diseases caused by smog. Besides, traffic congestion will be minimized and not frequent. Secondly, public transport will help reduce the number of traffic accidents that are happening a lot. Fewer private cars will make the roads cleaner, more space for public cars. In addition, people will also have to drive less by themselves, safer in situations such as drunk, tired, sleepy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of posing high taxes on cars to reduce traffic jams are more significant than the possible drawbacks.