Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The cost of tertiary education has risen dramatically in recent years. Thus, it is argued that tuition fees should be lessened, especially for students who come from low-income family backgrounds or the countryside. In my opinion, I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that third-level education is much more costly nowadays. Firstly, the demand for college has increased significantly in the past few decades, and as demand rises, so too will the prices. It’s a never-ending cycle of supply and demand. According to the Department of Education, US colleges saw more than 5 million more students in 2017 than in 2000. What this proves is that despite the hefty costs of college, its benefits still seem to outweigh the cost. In addition, colleges are expanding their offerings by making changes on campus to increase the value of the student experience. That means building more dorms, making other types of capital and technological improvements. These are very real costs that colleges are taking on, and unfortunately, they put more responsibility on the students to meet those costs. Naturally, university fees will rise.

On the other hand, a diminishing education cost policy should be promoted to benefit students according to some. In fact, although pupils who come from poor families and rural areas are always under financial pressure, they still try to go to universities to have more opportunities to get a well-paid job. Therefore, lowering tuition fees might help them to curtail their financial burden and continue their studies. Moreover, despite there being many opportunities for students to earn a scholarship such as merit scholarship, government scholarship or educational funding, it is not guaranteed that those who are in much need of it will get it. As a result, this policy might partly help those students to manage their education costs.

In conclusion, I would restate that reducing tuition fees is essential and worthy to be encouraged for poor students because the cost of a degree is more and more high-priced these days.