Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make Has this become a positive or negative development

When it comes to technology, we tend to find ourselves involved in a dilemma. Some argue that technology has greatly benefited human relationships while others do not agree. From my perspective, this phenomenon is a negative development as the disadvantages of using technology outweigh the advantages.

Admittedly, the option of using technology is attractive/appealing for several reasons. First and foremost, convenience is the main factor contributing to an increasing number of people relying heavily on state-of-the-art technology. With the prevalence of the internet, some people are too lazy to have a face-to-face interaction. Instead, they prefer communicating with their family or friends via such electronic devices as smartphones and social apps. By doing so, the need for giving others a literally good impression can be eliminated. Second, people can use emojis to show their facial expressions online. That is to say, they can use the emojis to express their thoughts and add humor within the conversation. For example, with a click of a mouse, a man can use the heart-shaped emoji to convey love to his wife or girlfriend. Therefore, I understand why people favor technology over a face-to-face interaction.

On the other hand, face-to-face contact literally benefits human relationships more. First, technology has somehow disturbed people’s lives, especially during their dining time. Needless to say, people look at their phones while walking, before sleep and even during eating. For instance, when a couple is dining together in a restaurant, both will unconsciously take out their phones, with their hands swiping through their screens until the waiter has served up their food. Second, when we gradually rely more on technology with phones being indispensable in our life, we will trap ourselves in our world; hence, we will not be willing to interact with others in the real world. Third, there is a risk of being cheated. In this way, people can hide their real identity, hack into your accounts and steal what they want from you. Thus, these online criminals can threaten or blackmail you with the information stolen through the internet. As a result, people should get in touch with people rather than use phones or technology.

In conclusion, after weighing both pros and cons of technology, I strongly maintain that technology will affect people’s relationships with one another with the examples and reasons given above.