Living in the post-digital era, people can keep abreast of up-to-date information with a click of a mouse or at the touch of an app. This prevailing trend has sparked a heated debate about which is the most effective way of getting people up to speed with what is happening in this world. Some claim newspapers are the key pathway to news whereas others think this can be done more effectively through other media. In order to delve deeply into this dilemma, this essay will discuss the pros and cons of the two opposing views and explain why traditional newspapers will be eventually superseded by the internet.

On the one hand, newspapers are thought of as the reliable sources to learn about news due to their authority and accuracy. Most world-famous newspaper companies employ well-experienced editors and journalists to write news articles, and their authoritative comments on different issues usually have a profound impact on society. In addition, each piece of news in newspapers is meticulously verified before being published. People involved in the checking process follow various steps to investigate the authenticity regarding the sources of news and relevant images. Given the credibility, a slight increase has occurred in people reading printed newspapers, and this phenomenon is ascribed to the fake news running rampant in social media. Over a quarter of the U.S. population is reported to have misled by online false information; nevertheless, newspapers strictly examined by conscientious editors are exempt from this accusation.

On the other hand, Internet-based media are considered a more effective alternative to access the latest news because of their availability and efficiency. With a click of a button, people are able to acquire a lot of breaking news anywhere and anytime. For instance, they can stream the World Cup Final from BBC online channels, Facebook and Twitter, and this is what newspapers can hardly compete against. Moreover, the information people obtain from newspapers is not necessarily the most updated version because journalists can neither add nor revise anything upon their publication. Nonetheless, online news websites and social media apps, as opposed to traditional newspapers, can update their news coverage, thereby assuring readers of the latest information.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that the Internet-based media are undoubtedly the most effective means of staying in touch with the world, as they not only inform the public of what is happening but also bridge the world without any delay.