Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is evident that technology has transformed the ways of communication and influenced relationships in a variety of ways. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects of this.

The dominant way those relationships have been affected is that they tend to be at a distance rather than face-to-face. The advent of the internet has made it easy for international business owners to communicate, with remote job opportunities one call away. Online educational programs are available for people residing in different countries, and it is no longer a dream to attend live classes from a comfortable home. Not only this, social platforms like Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube have revolutionized relationships, be it making online friendships with people from other countries or staying in touch with loved ones. Based on this perspective, technology has influenced relationships positively.

However, despite these advances, the quality of interaction has significantly declined in several respects. If people are developing most of their relationships online, they may also have less face-to-face contact. This kind of contact on a personal level is crucial for human beings to feel wanted and a part of society. This lack of direct interactions may be a severe problem for children’s social development as they used to play out on the streets but are now too often indoors. Technology can also mean people are detached from real life even when they are out, as can be seen by the many people staring into their mobile phones as they travel or walk around.

In conclusion, technology has brought some positive development in the ways people interact with each other. However, there are also some negative impacts of technology on the types of relationships people make.