Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

One of the major changes that technological advances have made to the connections among individuals is in the relationship with their friends. In the past, people used to have a narrow circle of friends but utterly profound relationships. Now, owing to the internet, they can connect with friends of their friends, and even make friends internationally. The form of conversations has shifted from firsthand to online communications. I personally believe it is a disadvantageous effect since it makes a larger but more superficial link between individuals. According to a survey conducted by Facebook in 2022, more than three-quarters of the subjects confessed that they have not met half of their friends on Facebook in real life.

Another transformation of technology on interpersonal connection can be seen in the workplace, which I consider being a positive effect. Several decades ago, people had to be at the office to perform their duties at work as well as conduct a meeting. Now, most of the staff can work from home in emergencies. Likewise, the meeting can be taken place online from different places in the world simultaneously. It would not only bring convenience for the people involved and reduce the cost of traveling or communicating, but also enhance the work efficiency of workers. This can be exemplified by how people worldwide performed their work during the Covid-19 pandemic, when most citizens had to be in quarantine