Nowadays we communicate less with our family members To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

AS electronic device play an increasingly more central role in our lives, it has been suggested that there has been an unprecedented decline in interpersonal communication not only with colleagues, business, associates and close friends but also with our immediate family. I completely agree with this assertion and, moreover, this is a warning trend that looks set to continue.

Even though face-to-face interactions are possibly at their lowest level ever, it would be foolish not to recognize the valuable role that advanced technology plays. Thanks to it, we can instantly get in touch with any individual or organization, at the touch of a button, regardless of time zone or location. For example, we can follow what our friends have been doing through social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram, therefore, the rise in communication via such methods cannot be underestimated.

Nevertheless, this reduced contact with our own family is a disturbing by-product of electronic communication and could be attributed to the change in lifestyle, for the current generation. For instance, the previous generation worked in nine-to-five jobs and went home every day to eat and chat about their day with their families. The millennials, the stark contrast, are frequently employed as digital nomads, working irregular hours, and this lack of routine results in results in a different way of life to our ancestors.

Despite communication being at its highest level, in term of quantity, the quality of this communication is debatable, social media updates should not replace personal contact with close family members, by setting a good example to children such as not using gadgets at the dinner table instead trying to engage with their offspring in more meaningful ways.