Nowadays, young people admire media and sports stars though they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, celebrities and sports stars have become a major influence among the young. However, some people think that these public figures are not good role models. From my perspective, this trend has both pros and cons.

On the one hand, idolizing entertainers and sportsmen who inspire negative thoughts and behaviors may indeed result in adverse effects. Firstly, some youngsters affected by bad examples from their idols are more likely to imitate these stars. Some of them; nowadays, pursue their idol’s lifestyle by taking up the same living habit and behaviors. Moreover, several youngsters take to parties, nightclubs or even drinking excessive alcohol. This may potentially create a detrimental phenomenon among the young generation. Secondly, many media and sports influencers use scandals and pr stunts to obtain attention. They create sensational news and unacceptable trends which generate the young’s interest. To be more specific, many do not care about their study and other social issues since their attention is solely devoted to entertaining figures. However, this does not mean every media celebrity and athlete exerts a negative impact on the young generation.

On the other hand, there are numerous positive aspects of public figures setting a good example for young people. The majority of entertainers and athletes are in excellent physical and mental condition. This may have an impact on the teens to work toward a healthier lifestyle. Besides, the devotion and hard effort that these superstars put into their daily lives are good role models. Khanh Vy is perfectly exemplified in that she made great efforts to achieve her ambition and has been becoming successful. She has inspired their motivation to everyone.

In conclusion, I believed that the adoration which youngsters dedicate to media and sports stars has both strengths and weaknesses. It will be better if teens have selective awareness of their idols.