Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Have you ever gone shopping in your leisure time? Most of us have ever spent our free time in shopping centers at least once. However, spending too much time on shopping may affect our life in an unpleasant way. I strongly believe that spending so much leisure time going to shops is the reason for personal financial collapse and some mental diseases; likewise, this is a kind of wasting time.

To be exact, most people do not realize that they are wasting their time uselessly. Nowadays, more and more people, especially young boys and girls, are choosing shopping as a free time activity. They always want to buy new things, even the things which are necessary. Little by little, their money is wasted more and more. As a result, people’s finance is declining unconsciously. The society will be affected more or less.

In addition, some illnesses with mind can be caused by shopping too much. According to a professional Australian psychologist whose name is Randy Frost, shopping can affect people’s mind and cause a disease named “mental disturbance”. Similarly, the statistic of England psychology institute shows that over 80% of human in the world have symptoms of this sickness. Moreover, our nerves can be stimulated continuously by shopping. This can lead to cardiovascular diseases and even autism. Therefore, it can be said that shopping is destroying our life.

Furthermore, our leisure time is going by monotonously because we are spending too much of our free time on only shopping. Commonly, people who go shopping hardly ever pay attention to the time they spend. In fact, instead of going to the shops, they can do more useful things with families or relatives. Not only that, but this can also affect their studying or working seriously. For instance, even when working, a girl who is crazy about shopping can wander her work and think about the next shopping night, including where to go, what to buy, and so on. Because of those reasons, their time is wasting unsuitably and their social life is influenced severely.

Some people presumed that shopping was the best way to relax and feel less stressful. Notwithstanding, shopping is not the only way for relaxation and stress reduction. This is to say, playing games, going to the gym, listening to music, and so on, are also effective methods to feel better.

In summary, although shopping is one of the most interesting activities in leisure time, it causes more harm if we spend too much time on it. Shopping is supposed to be the essential cause of economic decrease, time waste and some mental sicknesses. Unfortunately, it is difficult to stop people, especially teenagers, from spending free time going shopping in malls uncontrollably because they are more and more addicted. Do you have any solutions?