Nowadays young people spend too much of their time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are growing concerns among publics today that the more time consumed in shopping malls by youngsters, the more negative affects will be predicted on both the young people and the whole society regard. In my opinion, this phenomenon will not only bring us some negative impacts but some positive effects also will be expected.

What are the problems that much expenditure of time in malls will lead to, it can be delve into two regards-- personal and social, respectively. For personal prospective, the time they spend in the malls will directly affect the consumption of them. That is to say, there is a highly possibility that youngsters will buy some impractical products which they are not intend to buy at first. Since the package and the advertising presented in a mall are much attractive and young people are not matured enough to resist it. As a result it will stimulate their greed for consumption and will eventually cause a short of money. For social regards, the consumption of products will produce enormous amount of rubbishes and it can give damages on natural environment. The food package, for example, the papers and plastic bags, people usually buy some food or drink with them while go around shops in shopping malls.

Under the shadow of this problem, it seems could bring some benefits to society as well as youngsters. Responding to the increasing development on electric device such as mobile phone and lat top, young people spending much less time with their friends and family than the past. Therefore, go shopping with friends and family in a mall becomes a modern style event to concrete a relationship among them. Furthermore, the production companies and government will also make profits by such activities. The companies including malls could offer more employment opportunities and government could receive adequate income of tax.

In conclusion, there may have much concerns on the way young people spending time in shopping malls and the influence on society. At the same time, the fact that both society and young people are receiving the benefits from it also cannot to be denied.