The number of overweight children in developed counties is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children’s health.

To what extend do you agree with these views?

A problem of modern societies is the increasing number of young generations who are overweight. Some people blame this situation fast food selling while others think that this should blame on the responsibility of parents. However, there are many possible explanations for this scenario.

Opponents of fast food outlets argue that the developed countries are filled with shops selling unhealthy, fatty foods such as chips, fried chicken at low prices. This has created a whole generation of adults who have never cooked a meal for their children. It could be because either they are too busy at work or fast food is too convenient for themselves and their families. If there were fewer of these restaurants or the prices were too expensive, then children would be less likely to be tempted to buy take-away food.

However, there is another argument that blames the parents for unintentionally allowing their children to be overweight. This view captures more attention and agreement of the majority of the public. It is understandable that good-eating habits tend to be established in the early time of life by raising awareness from parents. If children are given chips or chocolate rather than nourishing foods or are always allowed to choose their favourite foods, they will go for sweet and salty foods due to their good tastes. As a result, this habit will carry on throughout their lives and even transmit to the next generations.

To conclude, the two views discussed play an equal role in contributing to the problem. However, it is essential to know that young people should be encouraged to be more active by increasing doing exercises or engaging in outdoor activities, as well as limiting them to consume fast foods. A balanced approach could be helpful in this situation.