The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. what is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, with the advance of technology and changes in lifestyles, new problems have arisen in the society and commonly founded in rural area. Overweight is always a problem, it causes many diseases and serious health problems. There are plenty of excuses why people become overweight.

Two reasons could be listed down as the main cause for overweight, first, the excessive consumption of fatty food, also known as junk food. Living in a society where time is of overly importance, people tend to eat foods which are easy and quick to consume that contain high sugar and salt levels. For example chips, cola, noodles, are kinds of food that if consumed in sufficient quantity and quality will cause overweight. Secondly, the sedentary lifestyle which the current society lives in is another reason for this health condition. People travelling in vehicles, using escalators, avoiding every task which needs physical exertion has made them lazy and unhealthy. Lack of hobbies also makes people spend their leisure time just to watch TV or surfing internet.

To overcome this problem, there are several things that we can do. Firstly, consume healthy foods. Nowadays, there are so many catering or restaurant that serve an organic and healthy foods, fruits can also be made as healthy snacks than consume potato chips or chocolate candy. Secondly, the government should offer healthy area like car free day, or park so people can spend their time to do exercise or go on an excursion. To decrease bad effects of modern lifestyle, people also can change their daily activities like taking bicycle to traveling around, and choose to take stairs rather than escalator or lift.

In conclusion, the numbers of overweight people are increasing year on year. However we can solve the problem by consuming healthy foods, and change our habits by doing exercise every weekend.