In numerous nations, there is a growing trend for individuals to frequently discuss financial matters, such as their earnings or expenditures, in everyday conversation.

What are the reasons behind this phenomenon? Is it advantageous or detrimental?

Raising questions about monthly incomes and other financial issues in daily conversations has become more prevalent in substantial nations across the globe. This essay will examine the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon and elaborate on its detrimental impacts on the human health of young people.

There are several reasons for mentioning the topic of personal incomes and living expenses in daily conversations, one of which can stem from the close relationships among people. Throughout history, as most individuals have undergone financial hardships due to the fatal impacts of prolonged wars and erratic climate changes, they have had an extraordinary willingness to provide others with assistance, including food and clothes, tightening the relationship among individuals. As a result, asking personal questions, such as marital status or financial issues, has emerged as a norm to show wariness and great care towards others. For instance, it is common sense in the Vietnamese culture among people to initiate a conversation, including enquiries about career prospects and salary since they contend that such questions will enhance the relationship towards higher levels.

Despite the merits analyzed above, this trend can exert negative impacts on the human health of younger generations. As younger individuals nowadays are living in a highly competitive world where each individual has to compete fiercely to secure a permanent job with a lucrative income, conservations whose contents are mainly about financial issues and living expenses can put them under great pressure, resulting in consistent depression and other mental health issues. For instance, numerous graduated students residing in major cities in developed countries are struggling to get a job, which, in turn, deepens depression and stress due to the shortage of income. Therefore, questions directed to expenditures and financial potentials can exert some negative impacts on the mental health of young people, posing a risk to more severe consequences.

In conclusion, there are various explanations for the trend of raising financial questions in daily conversations, one of which can be seen through the relationships among people. Despite the advantages of the trend, I argue that this phenomenon can be disadvantageous to the mental health of the young generations who face obstacles in job seeking.