Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Now more than ever obesity became one of the most important problems that our society suffers from. The number of obese adults, as well as children, were increasing rapidly from day-to-day and at this point, it is clear that we have an epidemic. With technological development, we are bound to a sedentary lifestyle and with it comes obesity.

From spending hours sitting in classrooms, studying in libraries, working on laptops or personal computers to leisure activities that include mostly video games, our physical activity was never as low as it is today. Eating unhealthy, irregular meals became an everyday thing for adults and children. Stressful and rapid lifestyle brought upon us modern-day illness that has to be fought against. Causes for obesity can vary, from genetic predispositions, stress overeating, lack of time for healthy cooked meals, however, the cost of healthy food exceeds fast food so that has to be one of the major excuses why most people choose unhealthy options.

Whatever the reason is effects on health are way too serious to neglect it as a deadly illness. High blood pressure, diabetes, lower back pain, heart attack are some of the negative aspects that obesity results in.

Whatsoever, there are some possible solutions that people can implement in their everyday lives. More physical activity, limiting the time that younglings spend indoors, meal preparation during weekends are some of the ideas to decrease obesity and an unhealthy lifestyle. On the other hand, lowering organic food cost would be one of the most important changes that would help people fight obesity.