The older generations tend to have traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. Some people argue that these traditional ideas are not helpful in preparing the younger generations for modern life. Do you agree or disagree?

We are living in an era where the traditional beliefs and views are quickly left behind by the fast-changing society. When traditions no longer suit the society, people argue that old ideas would not help the young to adapt to modern life. While I agree some traditional views are useless and even restrictive, I doubt the opinion that all traditional ideas are helpless.

To begin with, we have to admit that some conventional thinking and behaviors has obviously decayed and even become limits for the younger generation. For instance, in ancient China, young girls should get married before the age of 25, otherwise they will be criticized and despised. Conversely, today, it is not wise to choose to get married unless one has a stable income and certain amount of savings. Obviously, these conservative and outdated traditions will soon become history.

Of course, that is not to say that we should underestimate the effect of old beliefs. Some traditional views do value, some are even precious in modern society. Although the economical and social environment is changing, something in root should remain unchanged. For example, ancient Chinese people attach great significance to working hard, which is still valuable and appreciated in today’s workplace. Other traditional characteristics in China such as politeness, honesty and good manners are still beneficial if young people can adopt them.

In all, although some old ideas are useless and even seem stupid, there still exit those of values. More importantly, we should recognize our capability and the importance in improving old conventions and inheriting the essence of our traditional culture.