Some people think that robots are very important to human’s future development. Others think that they are dangerous and have negative effects on society. Discuss both opinions and give your personal view.

The progress of artificial intelligence is undeniable and inevitable. However, whether it is a blessing or a curse in the future remains a controversial issue. In my own view, artificial intelligence, namely robots, is a double-edged sword for human beings and the question lies in how we can make use of it safely and properly.

On the one hand, a number of virtues can be gained via proper use of robots. To begin with, human beings can be relieved from dangerous and repetitive works by the replacement of robots. This will also have a significantly positive effect on social productivity, because robots usually make less mistakes when doing jobs requiring accuracy and are able to do them more quickly. Moreover, robots can also be used to enhance people’s life quality. For instance, they can take care of the old and offer help in their daily life, which tend to be quite practical and convenient.

On the other hand, the potential dangers of robots can not be neglected. The first possibility is that their replacement of human beings in workplaces will bring a higher unemployment rate. The more the bosses prefer to employ the mechanical people, the more people will be unemployed and the lower the living standard will become. More seriously, this will further lead to an unstable society. Meanwhile, if people in the future rely too much on robots, it is possible that human beings will lose the basic skills for living and even surviving. Then human civilization will be put in danger. Imagine that one day, all works are done by robots and what we have to do is lying in the bed and eating the food prepared by them -- How weird!

As I have discussed above, while robots can bring benefits to human development, their potential danger is inescapable. Therefore, it is important for us to set moral guidelines and law restrictions to prevent them from being overused or used inappropriately.