One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The life span of people are getting longer and the quality of life is improving. This is believed to be as a result of better medical care with improved technology. In my perspective, the advantages of this development outweighs the disadvantages and this shall be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, improved medical care is improving the quality of life of people which as a result increases their life expectancy. Firstly, people are living longer to spend more time with their families. As it can be seen in Asian and African countries, older people live under the same roof as the younger generations. This gives the young people the opportunity to learn more and gain experience from these old people. There is a saying which says experience is the best teacher. Moreover, people prefer to learn from others mistakes rather than make one themselves. Also, this is an opportunity to learn about history of a place. For example, if the old people lived during the war time, the youngsters have the chance to hear undiluted stories from veterans which could have a positive impact on the lives. Secondly, the grandparents will be able to look after the young children while their parents go out to work. The money saved from this can be channelled towards something that might benefit the whole family. For example, it could be used to pay towards leisure activities for the children such as swimming classes or dancing classes. It can likewise be used to pay towards hospital bills for the grandparents if the need arise without having to get a loan to pay for these bills which could further put a financial constraints on the parents.

On the other hand, longer life expectancy as a result of improved medical care also has it down sides. To begin with, using Britain as an example, it has been on the news on how stretched the NHS has been in recents years due to funding and overflowing number of patients that needs medical services. This is because there is a large number of elderly patients who needs medical intervention especially in winter months and sometimes during hotter months. They are living longer and as a result of the improved medical care and therefore taking up all the space in the hospital and giving the younger people little chance to enjoy this medical care. Furthermore, there are not enough funding for social services to take up these elders when they are dicharged from the hospital so they will end up staying in the hospital for longer and putting more strain on the hospital services.

In conclusion, As I have discussed both sides of the argument, I am of the opinion that the advantages of improved medical care outweighs the disadvantages.