One day the world's oil and gas reserves will run out. The search for alternative energy sources like wind power, solar power, burning waste, and water power are causing as much environmental damage as the oil and nuclear power sources they are intended to replace.

How far do you agree with this latter statement?

What possible benefits do the alternative energy sources bring?

It is foreseeable that our sources of fossil fuel are limited and the necessary of finding an alternative energy is a must for human being. While I agree that these new kind of energy are damaging our planet with various issues, I believe that we still have some long term benefits to exploit from them.

It is undeniable that alternative energy has not found the successful formula as they intended to replace the oil. Firstly, to consider about wind power there were many wind turbines abandoned along the coast in Viet Nam which cost the government billions of dollar to construct and operation. Yet it depended too much on the wind leading to long stoppage time when the weather was not in a good stage. Secondly, it was witnessed that burning waste for generating power was not always effective in every country. Sweden or Swiss were extremely successful in this kind of energy; however, it was only true in some country as if they could solve the air emitted completely to not pollute the environment.

Others, myself included, are of the opinion that the alternative power still plays a significant role in the future. Since the limited of fossil fuels, people must work out the sufficient and suitable source of energy as soon as possible, or it could be worse when the world run out of gas and oil. There are thousands of our trial have failed, however, this is a normal thing in experiments of find a key to the future. Besides, some experiments and research show that there are potential features in alternative energy, such as tidal power plant applied in the coast of Britain showing impressive results.

In conclusion, although alternative energy resulted in much damage to our planet, there are still reasons to have faith in their future.