One of the most serious problems that cities now face is crime. Why are crime rates increasing in cities? What are the most effective measures to tackle crime in urban areas?

These days, it is known that crime is one of the grievous problems in urban areas. The unlawful acts growing causes can still be controlled thru appropriate implementation of practical solutions.

The main reason in committing criminal acts is poverty. Since, there are increased work competitions in the urban areas, it is difficult to find a stable job, and therefore many individuals are having financial difficulties. Thereby, to satisfy their daily needs, some of them are involved in prohibited activities like robbing, stealing and at most is killing. In addition, these people are also engaged in alcohol and drug abuse, thus making them more vulnerable to commit such crimes. Furthermore, peer pressure, such as rivalry in the workplace, job dissatisfaction, discontentment and low self-esteem are also some of the causes of these unlawful acts. Such persons will do wrongful activities just to fulfill their worthless desires.

The implementation of effective measures will be the best way to combat these illegal activities, the first one is by creating stronger sanctions like raising the violation fine, longer to lifetime imprisonment and the death penalty as the most severe way of punishment. Moreover, proper and intensive surveillance like installation of CCTV cameras and police visibility all over the places will also help to reduce the crime rates in the cities. In the same way, proper guidance of the elderlies and in the school will also be effective so that these misbehaviors will be prevented. If these methods are going to materialize, the criminals will learn their lessons and will abstain to commit unlawful activities.

To conclude, the increasing criminal activities in the urban areas can dramatically lessen or put to an end by implementing serious and reasonable punishments. As a result, the cities would be at peace and civilized.