Today, there is insufficient respect to the elderly by the younger individuals. What do you think are the reasons? What are its effects to the society?

Nowadays, there are younger people who fail to respect the elderly. There are many reasons for such actions and its effects to the society are quite growing.

One of the reasons that younger individuals are being disrespectful to the elderly is that they are wrongly influenced by their peers, especially in the school. In addition, the lack of teaching of good manners and right conduct is also a contributing factor. Another thing is that parents or the elderlies are being busy to make a living, in which they fail to give their children enough attention. They often spend less time with their children as they will leave them to the caretaker because they are busy working. Moreover, there is a law that interferes with how they discipline their children, it is the anti-child abuse law. As a result, younger people tend to become abusive of their privileges and they are using it as an excuse to their misconduct. Not to mention that there are also elderlies that are too lenient with their children and it strongly affects the upbringing of the youngsters in a negative way.

The younger individuals’ misbehaviors have negative effects to the society. Since these children are being disrespectful, most of them fail to finish their studies and some are not able to correct their bad behaviors and still manifest it as they grow old. Furthermore, such manners lead them to the wrong path thus most of them cannot find a decent job. Meanwhile, their frustrations lead them to commit disobedience to the government’s rules and regulations. Some of them also engaged in loitering, vandalism, destruction of public properties and road rage, to name a few. In addition, as a result of rebellion from their parents, they run away, get involved in illegal drugs and commit crimes.

In conclusion, disrespectful younger individuals tend to have a miserable and directionless lives. In fact, they often become a burden to their families and a disgrace to the society.