One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

In recent times, virtually large cities all over the world are challenging an increasingly congested disaster. There are various reasons for this matter, and some remedies can be carried out to enhance the terrible situation.

One reason that can be given to explain the traffic jam is that more and more people are traveling by cars instead of bikes or buses. Increased wages made it easier for people to buy their own cars, which has led to the growing number of automobiles on the roads and resulted in “one long parking land”. Furthermore, the poor condition and service of public transport should be considered. According to a survey in 2021, public buses in Hanoi only meet less than one-tenth of citizens’ demand in terms of travel times, convenience, availability and punctuality; therefore, people tend to use private vehicles to save their time. The more vehicles moving on the road, the easier it is to get stuck.

There are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems. Firstly, a solution would be to introduce bans on motor vehicles of varying degrees of severity. For instance, during the 1990s, Boston faced a congested nuisance on the highway; after closing its exit and planting trees along the route, local officials have turned this place into a tourist attraction park. This revolution could precipitate a grand experiment, to show how a city with fewer cars can reinvent itself. A second measure would be for governments to promote and provide much better public transportation and charge prices that are affordable for everyone. Consequently, people might choose to commute on a convenient and comfortable bus or metro during rush hours, which lead to uncongested and unpolluted roads.