Online shopping is becoming more popular. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of work required?

As the proliferation of online shopping platforms allows people to purchase goods at their fingers’ tips, some argue that this “phenomenon” could have several impacts on the environment, henceforth, some urgent actions should be taken instantaneously including the co-operated effort of the Government agencies and individuals.

To begin with, e-commercials could be considered one of culprits behind the considerable increase in the amount of plastic waste. While in-person shopping provides buyers with simple-packaged products, online suppliers are required to package their products with far more quantity of single-used plastic bags, bubble wraps, or plastic tapes to spare those fragile products the fate of destruction. According to recent research, the amount of disposable plastic waste in Vietnam underwent a rocket by 2.5 times since the advent of commercial online platforms such as Tiki and Shopee, unfortunately, the figure is supposed to rise year on year.

The environmental outlook seems to be uncertain if there is no joint effort of ordinary citizens and the Governments in multiple aspects. First and foremost, the Government should introduce laws and impose so-called “green” taxes on online trades and delivery companies. To be more specific, refusal to make use of eco-friendly packaging materials such as biodegradable tapes of express companies should be strictly punished. On top of that, consuming-related courses are also of paramount importance. The last few decades have witnessed the dominance of trend-tagged items in online shopping, which acts as a precursor to the sharp rise in plastic packaging. Therefore, it should be the obligation of parents and schools to educate young consumers how to wisely evaluate the necessity of goods labeled as “trend” before buying.

In conclusion, to curtail the enormous amount of plastic waste caused by online trades, laws and taxes should be brought in by authorities, while as individuals, people had better avoid buying items without purposes.