Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People these days tend to have different viewpoints on what should be contained in school curricula. While some people subscribe to the idea that children had better concentrate on key subjects, I am of the opinion that culinary courses and nutrition education are also significant contributors to leading a healthy and independent lifestyle.

To commence with, there are several compelling reasons why key subjects are often considered a passport to career success. Firstly, it is undeniable that STEM subjects could provide students with agile logic, while literature and social studies foster students’ critical thinking and knowledge about current affairs. To illustrate, by constantly changing viewpoints needed in geometric exercises, children inadvertently develop their problem-solving skills based on multifaceted perspectives. On top of that, recent research has shown that employees who are equipped with those aforementioned competencies have higher incomes than unskilled ones. Henceforth, it is reasonable to apply themselves to fundamental subjects for those whose driving force is earning a lot of money.

On the other hand, I also believe that science of food is also believed to be of paramount significance in establishing the well-being and independent lifestyle of each individual. Children themselves who do not have adequate knowledge of the food they consume could trigger be prone to several health complications/ health disorders in the long term. For instance, a host of students believe that the more processed milk they drink, the taller they will be. As a result, the overconsumption of highly processed milk, which contains bovine growth hormone, has led to the popular precocious puberty among young generations in the last few decades. In addition, by introducing culinary classes in schools, children can learn how to cook as one of the most important survival skills, therefore they will be able to get rid of their sedentary lifestyle as well as gradually lessen their dependence on parental care.

In conclusion, though compulsory subjects should be given much attention at schools, it is not synonymous with the fact that children are not in dire need of food education and cooking skills.