only the government action can solve housing shortages in big cities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing crisis has become a substantive issue in urban society across the world, and this has led to an opinion that only when the government has taken actions, can this problem be alleviated. Nevertheless, although the governmental involvement is essential in certain areas, it cannot single-handedly address housing shortages.

the state intervention has proved to be highly effective in providing those with disabilities or with disadvantaged backgrounds with either housing allowance to help them purchase private accommodation or directly with economical houses. Such housing policy has, in fact, laid foundation for the poor to graduate from their poverty, closing the gap between the haves and haves-not.

Nevertheless, the governmental control over the housing market can stultify the development of this industry and simultaneously, impose financial constraints on the national budget. For instance, with the approval of an overarching design by the authorities, apartment blocks and other residential houses would be erected in a similar fashion, and therefore, the city landscape would be monotonous. And such excessive uniformity, especially in the size and number of rooms, will fail to meet the citizens’ requirements on properties. Consequently, housing reforms will have to be conducted so as to remedy such design faults, thereby consuming an inordinate portion of national resources. By contrast, should the participation of private property developers be encouraged, not only will it release the state from the burden of financing large-sized construction programs, but also foster the housing industry. For these reasons, the housing sector should only be dictated by the market, rather than a government’s will.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that governmental intervention is essential in certain aspects of housing market; However, this action should not interrupt the supply and demand relationship. As a result, to thoroughly tackle the housing issue, the joint effort of both the government and private sector is required.