Some people say that school children should be mainly taught about the literature (e.g fiction and poetry) of their own country because it is more important than that of other countries.

To what extent do you agree?

Some argue that it is more vital for children to be educated about their country’s literature rather than that of other countries. While learning about foreign literature can give children new perspectives, it is the local one helping develop their own identity and native language.

Admittedly, being instructed about the beauty of other countries through written resources enables a child to compare and contrast their values with those of other nations. For instance, exploring Grimme’s fairy tales introduces young children to the Western ethos of sharing and caring or core values of individualism and entrepreneurship, providing a basis for drawing parallels between their cultures and foreign ones. Not only can such cultural distinctions deepen their sense of cultural identity but also enrich their life experience. Furthermore, the insights into cultural diversity, gained through consuming overseas literature, also contributes to their cross-cultural communication abilities essential in collaborating with people from different backgrounds in the future.

Nevertheless, it is indisputable that native literature plays a pivotal role in shaping a person’s identity and linguistic proficiency. The optimal periods for an individual to internalize domestic customs and master their mother tongue are during formative years of schooling. Therefore, if they were inadequately exposed to domestic literature at school, they would experience feelings of alienation and struggle to navigate in their original society. A result, many Vietnamese families with children growing up abroad strive to foster their children’s connection to their native language through Vietnamese novels and poetry. Through the exposure to Vietnamese literary works, the children will be inspired to learn Vietnamese dialects as well as grammar, and local values such as family unity, facilitating their integration into their ancestral roots.

In conclusion, while teaching children about foreign literature allows them to accept and respect cultural differences, it is classical novels or poetry directly cultivating their individual identity, which cannot be achieved without the emphasis on teaching their indigenous knowledge.