The only reason to work hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people uphold the viewpoint that the sole purpose of those who do arduous work in their life is monetary. I, however, contrary to popular opinion, believe that although money is one of the reasons to why people work hard, it is not the only one.

Admittedly, a vast array of population spend long working hours in their offices either to fulfill their basic requirements or to improve their living standards and become affluent. An extravagance lifestyle is a common desire of many. Take IT employees, for instance, who deem promotion from managers, so that their salary could increase, even if they hate their work. Thus, it is credible that some proportion of mankind work solely to earn money.

However, it could not be normalized for everyone because there are certain individuals, who have a sense of gratification in their jobs and they work quite efficiently despite having moderate income. In other words, setting goals for themselves and giving their best efforts to achieve their own expectations is another reason for people to work hard. To exemplify, soldiers and doctors consider their job as a responsibility and do their best to save lives of others. This is because, what they earn is much more than just money as they gain satisfaction in what they do. In addition, those who are immensely enthusiastic in their area of interest do the grind to harvest information so that they can excel in their career.

To recapitulate, apart from earning their bread butter to satisfy their longings of an affluent lifestyle, job satisfaction, meeting their own expectations, and gaining knowledge are also the reasons for working hard.