The only solution to improve safety on roads is to stricter punishment for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some claim that imposing stricter punishments for driving violations is the sole way to enhance road safety. Although this school of thought holds merits, I partly agree with it due to the following explanations.

There are some reasons for the opinion that stricter punishments are the only feasible solution towards improving road safety. In the past, as individuals started driving on roads, there were inadequate traffic regulations that required drivers to abide by. Therefore, the number of accident cases caused by overspeed or not wearing a helmet was drastically high in some Southeast countries, for instance. Nevertheless, with traffic laws against violations becoming more intense, fewer collisions and traffic accidents have been recorded in recent years. For example, Vietnam has witnessed a sharp fall in the number of road collisions in the past decade due to heavy fines for driving offences, including overspeed and crossing red lights. As a result, stricter punishments for driving violations are necessary for the improvement of road safety.

Nevertheless, there are other vital solutions beyond more intense fines to the progress of road safety. One of the plausible initiatives is to encourage residents to divert to subways instead of private vehicles. This means of transport is constructed underground without any intervention of other vehicles, preventing it from road collisions and therefore enhancing safety among commuters. For instance, due to the interconnected and modern network of subways, the number of accidents caused by this means of transport in Japan has been reported to be relatively low throughout history. Therefore, the development of public transport has proved to be another effective way of improving road safety.

In conclusion, although some individuals consider stricter laws against driving offences as the sole solution to enhance road safety, I argue that other schemes are much more essential. Stricter More intense regulations on driving violations can not take effect if the infrastructure is not advanced enough. Only by constructing the advanced public transport network can the government ensure the safety of individuals.