The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Guaranteeing the safety and security of traffic and driving is one of the top priorities among many nations around the world. It is argued that in order to enhance safety when participating in traffic is putting much more severe punishments for delinquent drivers. From my standpoint, educating to raise awareness for residents and upgrade the public transport system would have a positive impact in a long term due to penalties cannot solve the issue thoroughly.

Admittedly, increasing the stricter punishments as putting a higher fine may reduce the proportion of traffic accidents or jam-packaged, which boosts the safety of roads. To be more specific, this practice definitely makes traffic participants afraid because of losing their money and indirectly losing their sufficient job, which leads to minimizing their income to cover living expenses. With people who get married, they have to take responsibility for their children, thereby desiring to set a good model in order to encourage their children to follow. Therefore, they may try their best to avoid mistakes in terms of breaking the law. This will generate a safer environment for other commuters.

Nonetheless, this proposal is not optimal by itself since there are two other measures that should sit alongside severe punishments for the best outcome. First and foremost, the government should launch various campaigns throughout the year with the aim of raising the public’s awareness in regard to serious consequences such as injuries, being held in heavy traffic, and even death. Accordingly, this approach will enhance citizens’ cognition and their liability when controlling their vehicles. For example, there are numerous posters which are hang on the street, and vivid infographic on different social platforms, creating more positive influence on the attitude of people. Another method is for the government should invest more budget to improve the public transportation infrastructure such as bus services so that citizens will be destined for using them in their daily life. This can lead to a decline in the number of people utilizing private vehicles and thus safer roads.

In conclusion, although putting severe restrictions on driving offenders may encourage safer commuting, I still believe that other solutions, including the best quality of transportation system and a well-rounded perception of traveling when combined will bring more effective outcomes. Therefore, it is advisable that all three options should be taken into consideration by the authorities to address traffic problems effectively.