The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Car accidents are increasing gradually in recent decades. In order to reduce traffic crimes, some people believe that stricter punishments should be implemented; however, I do think that it is not the only method to tackle the problem since there are other alternative measures which would be highly effective.

A stricter law undoubtedly acts as a deterrent so that both motorcyclists and drivers will have to think twice before committing a driving crime. The full weight of law including serving a long prison sentence should be practically applied instead of just a fine or banning driving license. For example, there was a truck driver who was accused of being drunk and using heroin while driving hit and killed nearly 20 motorcyclists at an intersection in Long An City, Vietnam. He chose to crush 20 people than hitting himself into another truck since only by doing that could he stay alive. Therefore, stricter punishments are considered an effective way to punish who commit driving offenses.

Although enacting a new law is recommended, there are numerous ways to solve the problem. Firstly, governments should invest money in installing speed cameras. Not until they realized that they are supervised do they control their speed. A lot of authorities worldwide have adopted this very cost-effective method. Secondly, it is necessary to conduct more regular vehicle inspections in order to avoid accidents caused by intoxicated drivers. Finally, education is a highly recommended solution which should be applied in schools. Consequently, the rate of teenagers who break driving laws will reduce significantly.

From all the above-mentioned, the implementation of a stricter law is not the only measure to improve road safety. Commuters should be more careful when traveling to protect themselves and surrounding people as well.