The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Obtaining steeper retribution from those indulged in driving offense is considered to be an ideal method of improving road safety. However, I completely disagree with this statement given the fact that driving related offe nces are due to improper road infrastructures and the failure of the government to implement an oversight on what is essential to improve road safety.

From my point of view, in developing countries like Nepal, where all the vehicles, be it motorcycle or car or bus or truck, ply on the same road, the likelihood of road accidents are high. On top of that, road infrastructures like proper demarcation using dividers or traffic signals or zebra crossings are severely missing from the streets. Zebra crossings have, infact, faded into irrelevance as the re is no provision for maintenance of these significant resources. While traffic lights are planned to be installed, it will take years for them to be seen operational on the streets. Apart from that, public do not use zebra crossings to cross the streets and jay walking is rampant across Nepal.

Government has no plans to separate the roads in which different vehicles run. There have been cases where riders have met accident just as they were trying to evade a pothole. Likewise, terrible road conditions are responsible for most accidents. Hence, the drivers are nowhere to blame when government itself is not taking measures to ensure road safety on the streets of developing countries. Moreover, there are no follow-ups to see if the contractor has been able to build the road of an agreed standard.

In conclusion, if roads were safe and separated for different vehicles to ply, the drivers would have made maximum contribution in driving carefully. Here, it is not the case of recklessness and non chalant driving which results in road accidents but carelessness on the side of authorities in building roads that are safe for all sorts of vehicles.