In order to solve traffic problem, governments should tax private car owner heavily and use the money to improve public transportation.
what are advantages and disadvantages of such solution?
Traffic handling have become prominent issue in several cities. To mollify these issue, one of the solution is charging high taxes on
private cars and use that money in improvising public transportation facilities. This essay will highlight that this is certainly
advantageous despite a few inevitable drawbacks.
Increasing taxes on private cars will certainly mitigate the usage to personal vehicles. Firstly, this would result in pollution
reduction which helps in creating balanced environment. An additional point is, middle classed categorized people will think twice
before using their own vehicles and will opt to use public transportation. As per statistics of Washington Post, approximately
3 billion people belong to middle class. Hence, there can be much advancement in usage of public transport and elevate government
budgets for public transportation.
However, it might be more disadvantageous for the people whose solely way of income is gained by occupation of driving. Majority of
the drivers will face difficulty in paying these high tax. As, their annual income drops down, their survival becomes complex. Apart
from it, raising the taxes on private cars could affect the company of the car, because individuals would refrain from buying budget
cars. If these policy needs to be implemented then one of the solution is to raise taxes but to a certain limit. This might be more
efficient solution and an equilibrium is created in public and government by introducing these scheme.
To sum up, charging high taxes would not be good option but, as mentioned that charging taxes to thin and static value can help to
both government and people.