In order to study at university, students are required to pay costly fees. Not all students can afford such expensive ones, so some people think that university education should be free for everyone.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Territory education requires students to pay expensive tuition fees that most students find it hard to afford, so according to some, it should be free for all people irrespective of their background and status. In my view, I agree that university education ought to be accessible as it will benefit both individuals and society in general.

The main point why higher education should get rid of tuition fees is that it equally provides everyone access to wisdom and knowledge, whether they are worse-off or better-off people. At the time being, students from underprivileged backgrounds are being held back from entering university because the tuition fees are too costly to pay. This evidently excludes a vast proportion of society and coincidently shapes a sense of discrimination that can be avoided by abolishing school fees. Finally, society and individuals can be benefitted from free higher education in the long run. The bottom line is that there it will open up higher education to a broader range of the population; this will result in increasingly educated people, qualified professionals and skilled workers. This pushes the country to lead various fields internationally and bring more economic advantages, which eventually will benefit society as a whole.

Furthermore, having not to pay tuition fees will also do good to many committed but poor students. For example, a large number of Vietnamese students have to work both full-time or part-time while studying at university to cover the cost. They will not be sidetracked if university education is free because they no longer have to work to cover tuition fees. Therefore, this helps to strengthen their academic background, and they will not be fallen behind those privileged students, leading to a more equal and prosperous society.

In conclusion, every country ought to value equal rights, and people that wish to advance that, in turn, will contribute to society; thus, free university education is undoubtedly a must. The cost of free education will be recouped over by the merits it brings.