International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, global travel is increasingly becoming affordable, which has driven the thrive in the tourism industry in many parts of the world. While tourism proves many positive aspects, some believe that it negatively influences local communities and the environment. In my opinion, the good sides will overshadow the disadvantageous ones.

On the one hand, the downsides of international travel can be varied. In terms of the environment in the host country, the growing demand for tourism means that there will be more shelters and accommodations that need to be built to accommodate a large number of holidaymakers. Thus, the vast majority of lands and trees will be cut down to serve the purpose, and therefore, there would be a loss in wildlife species and natural inhabitants. In addition, the amount of rubbish illegally dumped into the surroundings would eventually result in a rising in the levels of pollution and significantly damage the environment of the host country.

On the other hand, despite the negative sides of tourism mentioned above, it seems to me that the advantages are far more significant. Firstly, increased demand from tourists can boost local economies and local businesses since more tourists spend their budget on luxury services provided by local business owners. In Viet Nam, for example, tourism makes up a significant proportion of the national income; thus, local people mainly rely on the tourist trade and the influx of holidaymakers to make their fortune. Secondly, it can also bring investment opportunities from wealthy foreign investors who contribute massively to the economy's progress. In addition, job opportunities will surge as more tourists visit local areas, which will help reduce the underemployment rate. Lastly, the host country will have the chance to showcase and maintain its unique image to the world through the large numbers of people flooding into the country learning about its cultural heritage and customs.

In conclusion, it appears to me that the drawbacks of international tourism are far more eclipsed by the benefits.