Organized tours to remote areas and communities are increasingly popular. It is a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

Currently, the trend of organizing mass tourism to far-flung destinations is on the rise.Personally, I believe that this development may benefit the lives of local people, yet the negative effects on the environment should be seriously considered.

When the number of tourists increases enormously, this trend will economically and culturally benefit local communities. Firstly, the boom of tourism is likely to create more jobs because many businesses and services will be in operation, so companies have to proactively employ local people to serve tourists, which is an opportunity to generate higher and more stable income for local families, thus enjoying improved standards of living. Secondly, this trend paves the way for cultural preservation because tourists tend to be curious about local cultural features such as lifestyles, cuisine styles and festivals. Therefore, these cultural activities will be promoted and preserved so that tourists will have a chance to observe and take part in these activities.

Turning to the negative aspect of the problem, it is the main reason to create bad impacts on the environment. It is true that the rapid increase in the amount of trash comes from the number of daily visitors. As the norm, famous destinations will welcome thousands of tourists on a daily basis, hence, the enormous number of various garbages is the negative consequences of increasing dramatically and uncontrollably. To be more specific, the development of infrastructure and facilities for tourism seems extremely good and attractive, so the local economy will be affected positively, in contrast, it seems the local environment has to incur losses more than benefits. For example, building for entertainment services requires massive landscapes, so governments will have to proactively cut down many huge and ancient trees which are maybe the signatures of its area. As a consequence, the unwanted decrease of trees and its ecosystems will lead to many negative results in people’s environment such as air pollution, noise pollution, and water pollution.

In conclusion, this trend will create both positive for the local economy and cultures, and negative for their environment and individuals’ health.