Over-reliance on modern technology means that people are failing to learn, or are forgetting, many basic skills.

To what extent is this true? Are people becoming so reliant on modern technology that they are no longer able to do some things without it?

New inventions are usually made to ease human’s life. However, there is a belief that technologies have been used by people so much that they became dependent from automatons and unable to master different basic skills or accomplish some tasks. I partially agree with this perspective.

First of all, it is true that technologies have already supplanted people in many spheres of life. This applies especially for such areas that require large amount of labour invested but intellectual skills are not needed, such as household chores. For instance, people these days often may do not have the need to know how to mop the floors or wash dishes because they have robot vacuum cleaner or dishwasher to do it for them. Therefore, machine users do not feel that having this such skills is important.

Nevertheless, developments in technology also can facilitate progression of other vital skills. These are usually skills that, compared to those ones mentioned above, require using knowledge and intellect. For example, nowadays, with advancements of the Internet, amount of information that people have to analyse every day has been increasing significantly. Thus, if a person must deal with huge amount of data continuously, it is quite probable that their qualities, such as critical thinking improves.

Regarding the question of people’s disability to complete some basic tasks, it already can be observed at representatives of younger generation. Many children and teenagers that were born in 2000s do not perceive handwritten text or they do not understand how to determine the time by analog clock. However, it does not seem that the lack of this abilities complicates their lives. This is caused by the fact that humanity already has alternatives for handwriting and analog clocks that are more convenient for understanding.

To sum up, from my point of view, it is true that people now have difficulties in mastering some skills because of over- reliance on inventions. In spite of this, developments in technologies also contribute into improving other important abilities.