Over-reliance on modern technology means that people are failing to learn, or are forgetting, many basic skills.

To what extent is this true? Are people becoming so reliant on modern technology that they are no longer able to do some things without it?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Modern technology has played an integral role in our fast-paced lives and has brought huge benefits to human beings. Although technological innovations have improved the way we live and work, there is a growing concern that over-reliance on these advancements may lead to the loss of basic skills.

One significant consequence of excessive dependence on modern technology is that the Internet and search engines offer individuals instant access to a vast amount of information so it may cause a decline in critical thinking and problem-solving skills. For example, instead of conducting independent research for an essay, a university student may only rely on the available resources on the Internet and then summarize them in his work. Consequently, he may lose the ability to analyze and solve problems and his essay may face the possibility of being accused of plagiarism.

Another drawback of over-reliance on technological innovations is that people may forget how to read maps and lose navigational skills. Satellite navigation is a great invention that helps people navigate and get the right and fastest way to a particular location only with a GPS smartphone. However, satellite navigation is not always accurate and people may end up in stranger places.

On the other hand, modern technology also offers numerous benefits, such as increased connectivity, efficiency, and access to information. Particularly, the social network is an incredible platform to connect with people around the world and stay in touch easily. Moreover, the Internet may allow people to work from distances, people can do remote jobs internationally by applying for a foreign company. Last but not least, the Internet can offer a variety of sources for people to learn new skills through platforms such as Google, YouTube, and so on.

In conclusion, modern technology has brought huge benefits to our lives. Having said that, however, we need to be careful that we do not become over-reliant on it. We have to take advantage of technology’s benefits and preserve basic skills that are essential for our daily lives.