In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that with the proliferation of information on the Internet, people can effortlessly view everything they wish, including historical and cultural knowledge without charge, so it is no longer necessary to keep museums. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that museums will still be irreplaceable.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that museums will be made redundant. The primary reason for this is that the Internet provides people with numerous materials and resources related to history and culture without requiring them to travel long distances to museums. For instance, just with a click of a button, they can have an image of various artifacts from different historical periods, making it possible for them to expand their history knowledge. Given this factor, the belief that museums will be superseded by the Internet seems justifiable.

On the other hand, I am convinced that museums will still have a role to play. First, it is worth mentioning that if people continued to seek knowledge about culture and history online, the profits of museums would be lowered, thereby hindering the development of the world’s economy. By purchasing tickets to visit those places, people might contribute to the stimulation of economic growth. In addition to this, museums are of paramount importance to people’s physical experience, as seen in a way they directly explore and observe artifacts, long-standing statues, and artworks, resulting in a proper perspective on historical knowledge. To be more specific, unverified information floating around the Internet might lead to some misunderstandings, such as people’s mistaken views and information of historical figures and events, which strengthens the arguments that keeping museums is still an important task.

In conclusion, while there are justifications that museums will be marginalized by the Internet, I would contend that the former will remain essential in the future, considering their important roles in developing economies and individuals’ better understanding of knowledge about history and culture.