In the past, important knowledge about history and culture was stored in museums. However, today, people can see everything on the internet without paying any money. Therefore, we no longer need museums.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that with the proliferation of information on the Internet, people can effortlessly view everything they wish, including historical and cultural knowledge, without charge, so it is no longer necessary to keep museums. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that museums will still be irreplaceable.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that museums will be redundant. The primary reason is that the Internet provides people with numerous materials and information sources related to history and culture without requiring them to travel long distances to museums. For instance, simply with a click of a button, they can have an image of various artifacts from different historical periods, possibly expanding their history knowledge. However, it is crucial to note that this online knowledge cannot be presented as fully and professionally as museums do.

On the other hand, I am convinced that museums will still have a role to play. First, it is worth mentioning that museums can stimulate economic growth. They might attract millions of tourists from around the world visiting museums and other places of interest. By selling museum entrance tickets and offering tourist services, the local businesses can foster the development of the economy. Take, for example, the J. Paul Getty Trust Museum in Los Angeles, the United States of America. It generates a substantial amount of revenue per year, contributing billions to the city’s economy. Moreover, museums are of paramount importance to people’s physical experience, as seen in how they directly explore and observe artifacts, long-standing statues, and artworks, resulting in a more proper and comprehensive perspective on historical knowledge. To be more specific, unverified information floating around the Internet might lead to some misunderstandings, such as people’s mistaken views and information about historical figures and events, which strengthens the arguments that keeping museums is still an important task.

In conclusion, while there are justifications that the Internet will marginalize physical museums, I would contend that the former will remain essential in the future, considering their important roles in developing economies and individuals’ better understanding of knowledge about history and culture.