In the past lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach

In the current society, there have been some noticeable changes in the way of teaching students. While lectures were considered a conventional technique to teach a great number of students, using new technology in teaching has become increasingly popular. This essay discusses both the benefits and drawbacks of this new approach.

On the one hand, there are a variety of advantages to using technology in teaching.

Firstly, this new approach can make distance no longer geographical. It is because learners can learn anywhere and anytime with various websites or apps based on their preferences and conditions, which makes it easier for students to obtain knowledge. Some individuals, for instance, can pursue a master's or higher education overseas regardless of the distance, which was most evident during the COVID-19 epidemic period. Moreover, learning via technology devices can help students save money because they do not need to invest in school facilities and infrastructures and they could use it for other essential purposes.

On the other hand, using the latest technology to teach also offers a number of disadvantages. The main problem of this approach is that learners may be easily distracted during the course of learning. It could be explained by the fact that when using technology to study, a lot of students are likely to use their devices for other purposes such as browsing the Internet and chatting with friends, which can result in reducing the efficiency of the lectures. Moreover, learning via technology devices means that students would have fewer face-to-face interactions with their teachers, which could make students be deprived of the opportunities to engage in the lessons and feel demotivated and tedious.

In conclusion, although using cutting-edge technology to teach students can have a range of benefits, particularly eliminating geographical distance and saving budget, there are also significant drawbacks such as reducing the efficiency of the lectures and having less direct interactions with teachers.