In the past, many people had skills such as making their own cloths and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like those are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? How far is this situation in your country?

It is true, in the past, people had ample amount of free times, and they had enough experience as well as ability to perform different types of works such as making own clothes, repairing house equipment and so on whereas now these days, we cannot find these types of works. However, I believe that tremendous development of technologies have created this circumstance because people can easily complete these activities with the help of modern technology. In addition, it is also true for my country.

Admittedly, this is modern era, and in this era, people can do everything through the latest technology. As an example, thousands of clothes are made by garments factories, which are very comfortable and cheap; so, people don’t require wasting their valuable time by making handmade clothes. Moreover, this modern life is much more competitive than the past days in terms of getting a good job and maintains a standard life. Therefore, people are not intending to make such type of traditional works.

Furthermore, in my country, few decades ago, women stayed at home for working several types of house related activities including making clothes and men did outside works. However, this situation is gradually changed day by day due to the enormous development of technologies. Now, men and women have no time to do these types of conventional works because both of them engage with jobs. Besides this, when people of my country get free time, they prefer to visit historical places instead of doing the traditional works.

In conclusion, I think making own clothes, repairing house etc. are important skill for human. But, now these basic skills have disappeared from human knowledge due to the remarkable improvement of technologies. In my opinion, although we should take advantages from technology, we have to continue practice of the traditional skills.