People aim to achieve the balance between their work and lives but few people achieve it What are the causes of the problems How to overcome it

It is true that people these days are trying to accomplish the so-called work-life balance despite of hectic schedules and extensive to-do lists. Some have managed to achieve such goal whilst many have failed miserably. Even though this problem facing people of all ages can be perennial, there are some ingenious solutions to tackle it.

The excessive workload can account for the imbalance between people’s work and life. Heavy workload means workers have to strenuously exert themselves and fully commit to the jobs. Furthermore, the fierce competition from colleagues, i.e. peer pressures, makes people compete and struggle relentlessly or else they will be eradicated out of the industry. Discouragingly, many individuals tend to associate wealth and material possessions with high social status and social recognitions. For instance, the images of billionaires such as Bill Gates or Jeff Bezos spark off the perception that being rich will bring people happiness and admiration. Thus, they drown themselves in making money and achieve such qualities without even thinking of spending time for their families or at least their personal life, and health.

Various solutions can be adopted to address this problem. Corporates, companies or businesses should reduce the amount time working at the office and offer labors more annual leaves and perks. This could not only alleviate stress but also help create more friendly work environment hence improve the workers’ performance. Fundamentally, the employees themselves must be aware that being rich, obtaining high social status, or being widely recognized by communities are not the sole purposes they should embrace. Rather, it is establishing the chemistry and understanding among family members and being able to normally engage in recreational activities that matter the most.

In conclusion, excessive workload at the office and the pursuit of an unimaginable well-off life are the primary causes of work-life imbalance. Nonetheless, people can address this problem by allocating more time for their families and personal activities.