The tradition that famliy gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

It is an undeniable fact that family meals are becoming too luxurious to afford than it did in the past. This is due, in no small part, to arguably that the financial pressure, in the case of adults, is increasing and the breakneck pace of technology advancements which cause such behavioral changes, in the case of younger generations.

It is evident that the practice of people gathering around table is being lost can be attributed to adults being stifled with excessive workload to lighten financial burden, and to the young being physically and mentally attached to smart phones, computer or tech gadgets. Considering the former, living in the society where being rich and having material possessions define one’s status, parents tend to exert strenuously at the workplace to achieve such goals. As a result, spending time caring for family members becomes a far-fetched notion let lone spending time eating meals. As for children, the importance of attending home-cooked meals has been rendered obsolete by the benign neglect, in which they think family meals and those conversations at tables are less desirable than being active on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram or Youtube.

The falling short of maintaining family meals spells disaster for each family member’s future. Family bonds can only be strengthened by spending time together and exchanging meaningful conversations, such as the father briefs the son on the ins and outs of his day at work, or the children fight over the small talk at dinner table, therefore missing these practices could weaken the family connections. The reduced frequency of family meals also means that the parent-child intimacy, which is the foremost foundation of a family, is broken. Since parents’ behaviors define children’s tendency, lacking attention and closeness can lead to bizarre behavioral patterns or mental illness in children.

In conclusion, it is the idea of chasing money and the addiction to technological devices that cause the decline of traditional family meals. It is likely to take a toll on family members relationship and bring about dire consequence to young children.