People are getting richer, healthier and live longer nowadays. Nevertheless, they are not happier. What are the causes of this situation and what can be done to address?

In today's fast paced world, human living conditions have been irrefutably improved, thus people are able to fulfill their needs and live much longer than those in the past. however, kinds of research have shown that this ongoing trend does not correspond with their happiness. this essay mentions the underlying factors that cause this situation as well as some possible steps that could be taken to address the root.

The issue of the dissatisfaction of today's youngsters can be attributed to two main causes. In the first place, the influence of commercial advertising seems to be at the root of this problem. The growth of materialism has a detrimental influence on consumers' desires. people frequently feel compelled to buy unnecessary things due to the massive tangible advertisements. In some cases, they may force themselves to catch up with the latest trend on the strength of peer pressure. young people are the target audience for the marketing industry as they are easily swayed by advertisements to adopt the values of the consumer society. this actively illustrates that they are possessing more and more things which, they are told, will bring them the happiness they expect. however, they simply waste their money by virtue of their hasty decisions which just satisfy their temporary demands. another justification worth mentioning is that people are living in a competitive world. Although some of them have abundant economic backgrounds, they are still mindful of others' lives. they even involve themselves in a soul-destroying job which may cause so much chaos for their mental health as if money is the most crucial aim in their life. As a result, all the above-mentioned have failed to bring happiness, and the false promises result in the disillusionment among young people.

Nevertheless, steps could be taken to alleviate the problem. Firstly, the government must introduce restrictions on visual advertising. this means on online platforms, the excessive number of advertisements should be limited, therefore another helpful information can be a substitute. Secondly, another solution to ameliorate the negative impact of this matter is the responsibility of national and local authorities. they should allocate resources to schools to provide opportunities for pupils to participate in outdoor activities or take up a musical instrument. By doing this, today's youth would have been given chances to have more social interaction, rather than having their eyes glued to their phones and becoming the passive consumers of the marketing strategy. These two approaches are highly appreciated and would certainly help efforts to bring more fulfilment and cheerfulness into the lives of today's young people.

To sum up everything that has been stated so far, the trend of youngsters' discontentment can be elucidated by several reasons, namely the proliferation of commercials and peer pressure. To prevent this, the intervention of the government and school authorities are two of the most plausible answers.