People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons for this? What problems does this cause?

In this day and age, people are devoting a smaller fraction of their time to their family. In this essay, I will discuss several reasons for this trend and examine its consequences.

Various factors contribute to the weakened value of family time, one of which is because more and more people are prioritizing work and school over family. The economic strike of the COVID-19 pandemic, together with a significant increase in society’s expectations and peer pressure have forced many people to spend more time in their office. In fact, it has been reported that 46% of people in the United States put their careers and success above their families. In addition, the boom in entertainment choices also weakens the value of family time for many people. Today, people can opt for a multitude of interesting activities such as traveling and gaming to spend their holidays or to simply relax after stressful hours. As a result, they may get engrossed in entertainment and forget family duties.

This situation will consequently have adverse outcomes on society. First of all, it will weaken the bond between family members and exacerbate the generational gap. Without frequent communication, family members may not be able to catch up on each other’s lives, failing to understand and sympathize with one another. Moreover, increased stress and loneliness may result from a lack of family bonding time, especially for people who have to live far away from home. In recent years, many cases of students having depression and anxiety after studying abroad have been reported. Therefore, it is undeniable that spending less time with family has a profound impact on people’s overall mental health and well-being.

In conclusion, different priorities is one of the main reasons for the lack of family time in modern society. It is a worrying problem that can greatly impact the bond between family members, as well as their mental health.