People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind it? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In today's world, sleep duration is decreasing significantly compared to the hours spent sleeping in the past. This essay will highlight the major causes and the damaging effects sleeplessness can bring to individuals.

There are several contributing factors to the commonplace lack of sleep nowadays. The first cause is related to the time people spend working and studying. Specifically, many workers and students in different regions work and learn for more than 11 hours a day. Thus, they have less time to sleep because they are more concerned about making money and absorbing knowledge. Moreover, people's tendency to stay up late is another reason that contributes to sleep deprivation. According to research, about 70% of young people use social media or watch movies overnight, which shortens their sleeping time.

Along with the main contributions, there are some related problems to the lack of sleeping hours. To begin with, lack of sleep leads to dangerous health problems such as constant headaches, lethargy or depression. For example, many workers have constant headaches during work because of staying up late the previous night to finish the deadlines. Moreover, numerous schools have reported that students who sleep less than 7 hours tend to be lethargic during lessons. Furthermore, productivity and performance are seriously affected by insufficient sleep hours. For instance, employees who do not sleep enough do not work as productively as those who properly rest. Another example is that students get bad marks or perform poorly at school is caused by their playing games overnight and then sleeping during lessons.

In conclusion, sleep insufficiency is becoming more ubiquitous today. Moreover, studying and working overtime or staying up overnight are the main reasons for this problem. These factors also deteriorate individuals' health and are detrimental to people's performance and productivity.